Cheating Network
 
 

Go Back   Cheating Network > General Computing > Internet
Reload this Page I Need Help



Internet

This is a discussion about I Need Help within the Internet section, where you will



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2008, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deSpAiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 391
Reputation: 4
deSpAiR is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to deSpAiR
Default I Need Help!

i checked my hotmail today and it said i owe $347 and i looked at the message and read this, i dont know if i got hacked, or this is a scam trying to tell me to click on the link below and telling me to type in my password and such. the sender was support@PayPal.Inc.com

Dear PayPal Member,


This email confirms that you have sent an eBay payment of $347.85 USD to
achaade13@yahoo.com for an eBay item.



-----------------------------------
Payment Details
-----------------------------------


Amount: $347.85 USD

Transaction Id: 2LC956793J776333Y

Subject: Digimax 130





Note:
If you haven't authorized this charge ,click the link below to dispute transaction
and get full refund

Dispute transaction (Encrypted Link )

*SSL connection:
PayPal automatically encrypts your confidential information
in transit from your computer to ours using the Secure
Sockets Layer protocol (SSL) with an encryption key length
of 128-bits (the highest level commercially available)

-----------------------------------
Item Information
-----------------------------------


eBay User Id: scratchandgnaw2


----------------------------------------------------------------
Edward Harrell's UNCONFIRMED Address
----------------------------------------------------------------

Edward Harrell
211 David St.
Springtown, TX 76082
United States

Important Note: Edward Harrell has provided an Unconfirmed Address. If
you are planning on shipping items to Edward Harrell, please check the
Transaction Details page of this payment to find out whether you will
be covered by the PayPal Seller Protection Policy.




----------------------------------------------------------------
This payment was sent using your bank account.

By using your bank account to send money, you just:

- Paid easily and securely

- Sent money faster than writing and mailing paper checks
- Paid instantly -- your purchase won't show up on bills at the end of
the month.

Thanks for using your bank account!


I CLICKED ON THE LINK THEY TOLD ME TO CLICK, SO I DID AND IT WENT TO A PAYPAL SITE THAT LOOKED FAKE SO I EXITED OUT.

Last edited by deSpAiR; 05-18-2008 at 04:02 PM..
deSpAiR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
The Mad Hatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1
The Mad Hatter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

It is a scam, I got the same email as well.
The Mad Hatter is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 03:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deSpAiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 391
Reputation: 4
deSpAiR is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to deSpAiR
Default

wow then we should warn people, cause i almost put my password and email in the link they provided
deSpAiR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Guo0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 670
Reputation: 18
Guo0 is on a distinguished road
Default

didn't you look at the sender email?
__________________
Guo0 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deSpAiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 391
Reputation: 4
deSpAiR is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to deSpAiR
Default

the sender email was support@PayPal.Inc.com
deSpAiR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Sheogorath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 60
Reputation: 0
Sheogorath is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The part where it said "paypal.inc.com" should have been the dead giveaway that it wasn't "paypal.com".
Sheogorath is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deSpAiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 391
Reputation: 4
deSpAiR is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to deSpAiR
Default

should i report to their company
deSpAiR is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
THE MOD
 
itami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,575
Reputation: 89
itami will become famous soon enough
Default

The report will be under phishing

And yes...report it.
__________________




"As democracy is perfected, the office of President represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the
people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart's desire at last and
the White House will be adorned by a downright moron."

H.L. Mencken, The Baltimore Evening Sun, July 26, 1920
itami is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 29
Reputation: 0
magicsam3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I've gotten that e-mail before. It's just a scam.
magicsam3 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 04:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
woah, you can edit this?
 
sbl03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: rawr
Posts: 1,155
Reputation: 88
sbl03 will become famous soon enough
Default

There is no support@paypal.com, I believe. It's service@paypal.com.
__________________
sbl03 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2008 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.